Dealing with Baby Blues

After I gave birth to Alessandria Summer, I was overjoyed because I can finally hold the baby that I had in my womb for 9 months. During my days in the hospital, me and my husband always visit our baby in the NICU just to see her and check how she’s doing. After 3 days in the hospital, we already went home together with our little bundle of joy. The first week was really hard for me. I had a sudden feeling of sadness, anxiety,mood swings,Β and restlessness. I had bouts of crying and irritability. Having a baby is exciting but a big challenge most especially for a first time mom like me.

Postpartum-Depression-or-The-Baby-Blues

My baby blues became even worse when I cannot breastfeed my baby. There was no milk coming out of my breasts. I had a hard time pumping the milk out for almost 5 days after birth. My breasts are tender, full and was so painful because the milk inside it are stuck and just won’t come out. When my baby is crying for hunger, I was also weeping and so down because I cannot provide her what she wants. I am really thankful to my husband because he was always there to cheer me up and help me pump the milk out. We both gave our full efforts, he motivates me to keep on pumping until the milk comes out. And when I can finally breastfeed my baby, it helped to ease my baby blues. Aside from that, I also had negative thoughts that I cannot enjoy life anymore, that I will not be able to achieve my goals and dreams anymore, that I don’t have time for myself and was feeling ugly and down.US_102-466386327_wideAdjusting to mommyhood was not easy. Having sleepless nights, changing baby’s diaper all the time and attending to every cries was also the reason behind my baby blues. But as time goes by, I’m getting used to it. Just seeing my baby comfortable and at ease makes me feel delighted. I also asks my mommy friends for tips on how they deal with certain situations. Being a part of a group for all mommies also helped me to cope up with baby blues.
I don’t want to isolate myself because I know it can make the depression worse. Socializing really helps!

My negative thoughts are not true. Spending time with our little one gives me a different kind of happiness. Just seeing her smile, sleep, hearing her funny little noises and always being there for her is the kind of happiness that I’ve never felt before. I can still and will have time for myself. Achieving my goals and dreams are still possible.

I know this is just the beginning of our journey as first time parents. There are more demands and challenges to come. The key is to enjoy the road and think of how lucky we are to have such a huge blessing from above.

14 thoughts on “Dealing with Baby Blues

  1. It really is a hard responsibility to be a mom, probably the hardest in the world( I can only imagine ). I know you’ll be strong and surpass all challenges (y)

  2. I had similar situation followed me and my hubby loosing jobs couple months before child birth. Birth was bit harder since my gynecologist told me that baby don’t have enough amniotic fluid so I needed to have early delivery. That pass all OK, after we came out from hospital I had problems with bests pain since I had too much milk. My bubby helped me all time, but after three weeks I was depressed and cried constantly so I needed professional help from psychiatrist and medics. Two years after I am feeling fine but I still have issues and I am visiting my therapist regularly.

  3. That’s why I salute all mothers and mothers-to-be for going through that stage. I can’t imagine that I can handle it. Wish you can have someone whom you can rely on to lessen these blues. Stay healthy! πŸ™‚

  4. Its a nice way to cope up with the sadness or any feeling of negativity- be thankful that you have with you a blessing from above. Not all are given such blessing. Enjoy the moment- enjoy your baby because she will grow up real fast talaga.

  5. This sounds so sad. To have a happy and healthy baby and need to be dealing with those feelings. I understand you and you’re not alone in this. Trying to stay positive is the only things that helps with feeling blue or depressed. It will help in the long term although it’s not easy.

  6. I understand it’s not easy, especially for first time moms. It was also hard for me for my firstborn. Breastmilk didn’t come in till 5 days later and I was advised to top up with formula milk. Hang on there mommy! Good times are awaiting, especially after the first year πŸ™‚

  7. Post partum blues is just normal and would soon go away. But there are some cases that it will be present for a longer time and that’s when we call as “abnormal”. I am positive that you will overcome it. Just keep doing what you love. Good luck!

  8. Adjusting to being a mom can be difficult. Even on my third child I had a teensy bit of adjusting to do. There’s so much to deal with but in all honesty, since I planned for my third I felt overwhelmed with happiness despite the tiring and sleepless nights.

  9. Don’t feel sad anymore 😦 I’m not yet a mom but some moms told me that there are emotional stages that we will not understand until we are in that situation already. Cheer up! I know you’ll be a great mom.

  10. I’m not a mom yet but reading things like this can gear me up when the time comes that I’ll have my own little bundle of joy. I guess every first time mom suffers that because having a baby is a sudden change in their life and change is scary at times.

  11. I know how you feel. I have had post partum depression and I didn’t even realize it until later when I had a talk with my OB-Gyne. Found you from Mommy Bloggers. So nice to find another young mama to read and blog with. Sharing the journey really helps.

    At first those “what if I don’t accomplish my dreams?” and “will this baby be a hindrance?” feeling will definitely come at any time for a new young mama. But as my mother assured me, “no one is ever a perfect mother at the beginning.”

    I’d like to think that motherhood is like fine wine. It gets better and more refined in character as it ages. So cheer up, and if you ever feel the need to join a support group for dreamers… I have one on Facebook. Would love to have you there. Even 10 minutes can buy you a me time when we choose to.

    It gets better as the months pass by. Trust me. I’ve been where you are right now.

    Cheers,
    Iris

  12. I know how you feel. I have had post partum depression and I didn’t even realize it until later when I had a talk with my OB-Gyne. Found you from Mommy Bloggers. So nice to find another young mama to read and blog with. Sharing the journey really helps.

    At first those “what if I don’t accomplish my dreams?” and “will this baby be a hindrance?” feeling will definitely come at any time for a new young mama. But as my mother assured me, “no one is ever a perfect mother at the beginning.”

    I’d like to think that motherhood is like fine wine. It gets better and more refined in character as it ages. So cheer up, and if you ever feel the need to join a support group for dreamers… I have one on Facebook. Would love to have you there. Even 10 minutes can buy you a me time when we choose to.

    It gets better as the months pass by. Trust me. I’ve been where you are right now.

    Cheers,
    Iris of Earth Love Skin
    http://www.earthloveskin.com

  13. Tight hug! I dealt with post partum depression as well with my youngest and just lost the motivation to do anything. I literally had to drag myself to do things. I’d like to give you a virtual pat in the back for pulling yourself together and weathering your baby blues, mommy. It’s true that you need to have a support system to get you back on track and you are very lucky to have a great one. As for me, aside from my family, it helped that I kept on writing. I don’t intend to publish all of it, it just felt good to write down my feelings. In a big way, it helped me get over any bad feelings I had.

Leave a Reply

